2

Can Arlinn Kord's -1 ability (deals 3 damage to target creature or player) target another planeswalker?

  • 3
    Always read the Gatherer text of cards, not the text printed on the card. – GendoIkari Aug 13 '18 at 18:06
4

Yes, it can. In fact the text has been errataed to say:

−1: Arlinn, Embraced by the Moon deals 3 damage to any target. Transform Arlinn, Embraced by the Moon.

“Any target” means any creature, player, or planeswalker.

Before Dominaria, we had a rule called the planeswalker damage redirection rule: it meant when we were dealing damage to a player with a spell or ability, we could make that damage hit one of their planeswalkers instead.

Dominaria removed that rule, and any pre-Dominaria card that said “target creature or player” now says “any target” to remain functionally the same. There are a few other changes that were made too: you can read about those in Dominaria Oracle Changes under the “Planeswalker Damage Redirection” heading near the start.

If you see a card from before Dominaria that says “target creature or player”, it now has errata to say “any target” instead.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.