6

If an ability that affects all players is used, then does that make each player a target of the effect?

I.e. Is Guttersnipe activated am I able to change the target of the ability?

1 Answer 1

14

No, only things chosen for the word "target" are targets.

One notable exception is Aura enchantments, which are cast targeting the thing you want to enchant even though the word "target" does not appear on them (rule 303.4a).

1
  • If you look at the reminder text of some auras, the full rules text of an aura does use the word target. It is just for some reason they removed that reminder text from new core sets, you still see them in 8th edition auras.
    – Neil Meyer
    Sep 3, 2018 at 8:18

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .