If I were to cast Hijack on one of my opponent's creatures then, while that creature is under my control for the turn, I cast Blood Divination choosing to sacrifice the creature I took from him/her, does that creature go into my graveyard (since I control the permanent), or does it go into my opponent's graveyard?

This happened recently while playing with friends and we just decided to put it in the original owner's graveyard.


2 Answers 2


Because Magic has physical cards worth money, they go to some lengths to ensure your cards don't accidentally end up with another player. So there is NO way one of your cards ends up in another player's deck, hand or graveyard. (The other zones are shared.)

400.3. If an object would go to any library, graveyard, or hand other than its owner’s, it goes to its owner’s corresponding zone.

That said, things don't get that far in this situation. Sacrificing instructs you to place the card in its owner's graveyard.

701.16a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. [...]

There used to be an exception when playing for ante, but that doesn't exist anymore.

  • 1
    Only the battlefield is shared space, and it's visible for all players. That is incorrect. All zones except library, hand, and graveyard are shared (CR 400.1), and all zones except hand and library are public (400.2). In any case, your answer would be a better fit as a comment.
    – Hackworth
    Commented Aug 22, 2018 at 8:51
  • 1
    This does not provide an answer to the question. To critique or request clarification from an author, leave a comment below their post. - From Review
    – Joe W
    Commented Aug 22, 2018 at 12:35
  • 4
    I think this stands as a proper answer to the question; it just approaches it from a "why it's that way" instead of a rules quote.
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Aug 22, 2018 at 13:56
  • 5
    @JoeW: this obviously isn't critique or a request for clarification. Commented Aug 22, 2018 at 14:00
  • 2
    @GendoIkari it is a little surprising, but as a public zone that isn't a pile (like the graveyard), I guess they saw no need to make them individual. The easy way to tell if a zone is shared or not is if cards refer to "Your Command Zone" or "The Command Zone" Commented Aug 23, 2018 at 4:07

You put it to its owner's graveyard, so in this case it's your opponent's graveyard. Magic comprehensive rules define how you sacrifice a permanent:

701.16a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. (...)

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .