If my opponent has Ground Seal in play and I have a Crucible of Worlds, can I still play lands from my graveyard? I know Crucible of Worlds says nothing about targeting, so I assume it would not stop me from playing lands from my graveyard.

Some other cards that I assume would fall under the same roof as Crucible of Worlds are Karador, Ghost Chieftain and Gisa and Geralf.

  • MTG's logic is boolean. It either uses the word target and it targets or it doesn't.
    – Neil Meyer
    Sep 7 '18 at 16:26

Your intuition is exactly correct - Crucible of Worlds doesn't target the land cards, so Ground Seal doesn't prevent it from working.

This is reinforced in the Gatherer rulings for Ground Seal:

Only spells and abilities that target cards in graveyards will be affected. Abilities that don’t target cards in graveyards (like the one Tormod’s Crypt has) can still affect those cards.

  • Alright. I assumed it was that way, but I wanted to make sure, as the combos and synergies Crucible of Worlds can give are rather powerful.
    – Shadow Z.
    Sep 4 '18 at 17:27
  • I am not sure that is a comparable card to use. Tormod's Crypt doesn't target cards because it targets the entire graveyard. "Sacrifice Tormod's Crypt: Exile all cards from target player's graveyard."
    – Joe W
    Sep 4 '18 at 17:27
  • I am going to update the question with some other cards with similar effects.
    – Shadow Z.
    Sep 4 '18 at 17:33
  • 5
    @JoeW Actually, it targets a player, not a graveyard.
    – Arthur
    Sep 4 '18 at 17:51
  • @Arthur Good point, not sure how I missed that when looking at it. But still doesn't target cards in the graveyard.
    – Joe W
    Sep 4 '18 at 17:52

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.