I won a game by getting lots of points doing it ;) but was contested and I could see their point.

Here are two examples:




I can see from the official rules something similar is allowed:


The difference here is that BIT, PI and AT are created. So there is more than one parallel word created.

But are the examples I give only one parallel word is created, is this ok?

  • 3
    Sounds like you were playing with some noobies. This is pretty basic Scrabble strategy. There's a great documentary about high-level Scrabble play called Word Wars if you're interested in learning more about the game. Sep 14 '18 at 19:27
  • I just watched the trailer... I think I'm going to have to see this now ;)
    – davesmiths
    Sep 19 '18 at 10:15

The play you describe is both legal and generally easier to do than the multi-cross play you cite as a rules example.

The general rules relevant here are that, first, all the letters for a single play must be in a single line, either vertical or horizontal, and second, that all tiles adjacent to another tile (vertically or horizontally) must be part of a permissible words in each direction of adjacency. Finally, at least one tile of any new play must be adjacent to a tile already played (except the first play of a new game, for which one tile must be on the pink star center square).

  • If BRILLIANT has been played, can a player put the letter E under B, and O under T, and no other letters? That satisfies all the conditions you set out. Aug 4 '20 at 5:20
  • @Acccumulation no, the tiles you play must form a single word.
    – Jontia
    Aug 5 '20 at 9:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.