Meteor Golem's ability is "When Meteor Golem enter the battlefield destroy target nonland permanent". Does Meteor Golems ability affect planewalkers, which count as players and not really creatures?

  • You may be confused by the "planeswalker redirection" rule that allowed the controller of a spell or ability that targeted a player to be redirected to a planeswalker that player controls. This has recently been removed in favor of rewording the spells/abilities themselves to let them target planeswalkers. In any case planeswalkers were always counted as permanents and not players. – chif-ii Sep 14 at 16:31
up vote 9 down vote accepted

Yes, Meteor Golem can target and destroy a planeswalker on the battlefield. The player is a "planeswalker" only in lore terms. As far as game mechanics are concerned, "planeswalker" has a defined meaning, and a planeswalker object is not a player and vice versa.

A planeswalker in the mechanical sense is a type of object, a game entity that interacts with players and other objects:

102.1. A player is one of the people in the game. [..]

109.1. An object is an ability on the stack, a card, a copy of a card, a token, a spell, a permanent, or an emblem.

A planeswalker is not a creature, as you already noted, but its own permanent type alongside creatures and others:

110.4. There are five permanent types: artifact, creature, enchantment, land, and planeswalker.

Therefore, if Meteor Golem can destroy a non-land permanent, then that does include a planeswalker on the battlefield.

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.