-1

So I have 1/2 creature, opponent uses shock to kill it, then I answer with my giant growth and opponent responds with another shock. Will my creature survive or die? which spells will resolve first. I cast giant growth on 1/1 creature and enemy responds with shock. Will my creature take 2 damage first because shock is on top of a stack or will giant growth give +3/+3 to that creature until shock hits it?

marked as duplicate by BJ Myers, Malco, John, joedragons, Becuzz Oct 11 '18 at 17:57

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • Its not duplicate i wasnt able to find answer on that post – Shara Shara Oct 11 '18 at 16:45
  • @SharaShara out of curiosity are you playing in paper magic or online in Magic Arena? – Malco Oct 11 '18 at 16:47
  • paper also i am a beginner – Shara Shara Oct 11 '18 at 16:48
  • @SharaShara Could you explain why the linked to question/answer didn't answer your question? From my perspective it does, but I'm not a beginner either.... – John Oct 11 '18 at 16:50
  • 1
    english isnt my main language and i cant understand it very well so i want a simple answer will my creature die or survive – Shara Shara Oct 11 '18 at 16:51
4

Your creature will die, if your opponent plays correctly.

Here's your opponent's correct line of play in detail.

Opponent plays Shock. Shock is on the Stack. Your opponent decided to do nothing else (also known as "passes priority") and you get a chance to respond. You do, by casting Giant Growth. You have nothing else to do, so you pass priority. Your opponent gets a chance to respond before any spells resolve.

The stack is now:

  • Giant Growth
  • Shock

Your opponent casts Shock, and passes priority, and the stack looks like:

  • Shock
  • Giant Growth
  • Shock

You pass priority (i.e. you have nothing else you can do.) Spells resolve one at a time, the most recently cast spell resolving first.

Your opponent's Shock does two points of damage to your creature. Your creature dies, before your Giant Growth resolves.

  • Thanks, but i already got an answer – Shara Shara Oct 11 '18 at 17:16

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.