If I put a double-faced card onto the battlefield with Manifest (Put it onto the battlefield face down as a 2/2 creature. Turn it face up any time for its mana cost if it’s a creature card), what happens? Does it enter the battlefield transformed, is it a 2/2 with no abilities, or is it not even possible to be manifested?

  • If the answer has done a good enough job please consider accepting it. – Neil Meyer Oct 17 at 17:10
  • @NeilMeyer You can't accept self-answers for 2 days – Zags Oct 17 at 17:23
up vote 14 down vote accepted

This article explains that double-faced cards can be manifested and enter as 2/2's with no abilities. The actual implementation of this stems from the fact that the double-faced card must already be unidentifiable in your hand and library. As a result, you already have the card in an opaque sleeve or you have a checklist card in your deck as a placeholder, and either of these can be put on the battlefield face-down as a state distinct from transformed.

It should be noted that double-faced cards can't be turned down (such as by Ixidron). The relevant rules are the following:

711.9. If an effect allows a player to cast a double-faced card as a face-down creature spell, or if a double-faced card enters the battlefield face down, it will have the characteristics given to it by the rule or effect that caused it to be face down. That card remains hidden, using either a face-down checklist card or opaque sleeves. See rule 707, “Face-Down Spells and Permanents.”

711.9a While face down, a double-faced permanent can’t transform. If it is turned face up, it will have its front face up.

711.10. Double-faced permanents can’t be turned face down. If a spell or ability tries to turn a double-faced permanent face down, nothing happens.

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.