Let's say player A casts Curse of Opulence on player B. Then, player C attacks player B. I claimed that player A and C each create Gold tokens, but my friends agreed that only player C creates a Gold token. Was I wrong? I think that greatly decreases the value of the Curse.

You are correct, players A and C each create a Gold token.

The ability "Whenever enchanted player is attacked, create a colorless artifact token named Gold" applies to the player that controls Curse of Opulence, which is player A in this case.

The other part of the ability, "Each opponent attacking that player does the same" makes it so that player C also gets a token.

303.4e An Aura’s controller is separate from the enchanted object’s controller or the enchanted player; the two need not be the same.

The player who controls Curse of Opulence is also the controller of the triggered ability:

112.8. The controller of an activated ability on the stack is the player who activated it. The controller of a triggered ability on the stack (other than a delayed triggered ability) is the player who controlled the ability’s source when it triggered [...]

And the controller of the ability is the one that carries out the instructions, including to create the token:

608.2c The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written.

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.