If I attack with Karlov of the Ghost Council and another creature with lifelink, is Karlov getting 2 counters before he deals his damage this turn? Or are both damages dealt at the same time?


All damage is dealt at the same time, so Karlov of the Ghost Council will only get the +1/+1 counters after it has dealt damage.*

  1. Combat Damage Step

510.1. First, the active player announces how each attacking creature assigns its combat damage, then the defending player announces how each blocking creature assigns its combat damage.

510.2. Second, all combat damage that’s been assigned is dealt simultaneously.

*Unless the Lifelink creature also has First Strike or Double Strike

| improve this answer | |
  • ...and life gained from lifelink is gained as part of dealing damage ...and Karlov's ability is a triggered ability, which won't be put on the stack, much less resolve, before damage is dealt (i.e. before life is gained). – ikegami Oct 24 '18 at 5:17

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.