-1

Can the ability of Golden Guardian be activated at any time? Say, during another player's turn or during an attacker's or blockers fast effects phase?

  • 2
    Yes. (116.1b). Can you describe why you think you wouldn't be able to activate this ability at those times? – BJ Myers Oct 25 '18 at 5:35
  • 1
    What is an "attacker's or blocker's fast effects phase"? Do you mean the point after attackers or blockers are declared where their abilities go on the stack and players can cast spells? (That is not a phase, and it is not called a fast effects phase.) – doppelgreener Oct 25 '18 at 9:35
  • 1
    "fast effects" apparently is something from Yu-Gi-Oh. I guess they mean after declaring attackers and/or blockers – Simon Klaver Oct 25 '18 at 13:20
  • 1
    "Fast effects" is an obsolete Magic: the Gathering term, and I can see why it would be confusing for someone who played in that era. – Rainbolt Oct 27 '18 at 0:48
2

Yes, activated abilities can by activated at any time you have priority, unless the ability states otherwise, which is not the case with Golden Guardian. This is per Comprehensive Rules:

112.3b Activated abilities have a cost and an effect. They are written as “[Cost]: [Effect.] [Activation instructions (if any).]” A player may activate such an ability whenever they have priority. (...)

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.