I found myself in a situation where my adversary attacked with a 3/3 creature and I blocked him with a 3/4, what happened later was that both creatures died.

Shouldn't my 3/4 creature be alive with 3/1? In other situations this was always the case and I didn't get confused.

To clarify, there was no instantaneous card activated and there was no active spell that could be used to improve the enemy's creature.

  • From my time playing MTG arena, and seeing the decks and cards it gives, was their creature a zombie and they had Death Baron on the field also? That would mean your creature died because of deathtouch. – Andrew Oct 26 '18 at 15:59

Damage does not modify toughness, so your creature will not become 3/1. It will remain a 3/4, but it will be marked with three damage. (Some video game versions of Magic show this as 3/1, but that is inaccurate.) That alone is not enough to kill it, so something is missing from your description.

  • Maybe your creature was marked with damage earlier in the turn.
  • Maybe an effect enhancing your creature's toughness was removed.
  • Maybe the attacking creature had deathtouch.
  • etc

A more detailed description of the scenario would allow us to give a more detailed answer.

| improve this answer | |
  • By 3/1 I mean during the combat phase, after that yes, the creature will remain a 3/4. I will try to pay more attention next time, thank you very much for the answer. – Lesmitw Oct 26 '18 at 2:06
  • 2
    No, I stand by what I said. The creature is NEVER becomes 3/1 in the scenario you presented (because damage does NOT reduce toughness (wither/infect aside)). If Arena shows 3/1, it is lying to you. Furthermore, marked damage is removed at the end of the turn (Cleanup Step), not when the Combat Phase ends. – ikegami Oct 26 '18 at 2:07
  • 4
    I want to add that unfortunately Arena does display damage as a toughness decrease, like Magic Duels did. So, the most likely explanation here is that the 3/3 did have deathtouch, which would result in the 3/4 immediately dying. – murgatroid99 Oct 26 '18 at 2:22
  • @murgatroid99, I did mention that, and another equally likely scenario: Say the creature was a Soldier, and their Aven Brigadier died from blocking a different attacker. – ikegami Oct 26 '18 at 2:26
  • Right, that would make sense too. – murgatroid99 Oct 26 '18 at 2:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.