0

With Eye of the Storm and Thousand-Year Storm on the battlefield, I cast Lightning Bolt. Storm count goes to one, and Eye exiles the Bolt. Through Eye, I copy and recast it, and Thousand-Year Storm copies it once. Storm count to two. This much makes sense.

Now I cast Shock. Copied twice, the original is exiled, and my storm count goes to three. Now Eye copies both Shock and Bolt. Are these two cast in order (so one is copied three times and the other four), or do I cast them simultaneously, only choosing their order on the stack (and copying each only three times)?

  • There is nothing in MtG that casts multiple different spells simultaneously. – Andrew Oct 31 '18 at 4:03
4

Sequential.

"The player may cast the copies" would simultaneously cast the copies. This is practically impossible to do (since casting is a long and complex procedure), so the card uses the wording "For each copy, the player may cast the copy" instead. The instruction only has you cast a single object, so there's nothing for it to be simultaneous with.

| improve this answer | |
  • That said, I think that you can stack the Thousand Year Storm triggers in any order. Is that right? – Arcanist Lupus Oct 31 '18 at 6:18
  • @Arcanist Lupus, Yes. The abilities are only added to the stack the next time a player would get priority. At that point, multiple instances of TYS's triggered ability will need to be added to the stack. Each player in APNAP order adds their triggered abilities to the stack in the order they choose. – ikegami Oct 31 '18 at 6:22
  • Not that APNAP order matters when one player controls all the triggers. (I mean, it could matter if there are other triggers in play. But just the scenario as described only features triggers from a single player at a time.) – Arcanist Lupus Oct 31 '18 at 6:31
  • Right. I was just being complete. – ikegami Oct 31 '18 at 8:05
  • 1
    Rule 601.2 describes the 9 step process to cast a spell. And a couple of those steps are whole paragraphs. In normal gameplay, that is usually equivalent to what you describe, but it can get more complicated. – murgatroid99 Oct 31 '18 at 16:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.