What happens if I have Paradox Engine but I use League Guildmage's ability. Would Paradox Engine’s ability activate?

  • Kind of, but I thought they said copies of spells went on the stack so... – user27739 Nov 7 at 20:52
  • The "duplicate" questions are not duplicates. They are similar questions, but one is "yes", the other is "no", and this question is in between them. The fact that this question was marked a duplicate of two different questions with opposite answers should be a clear sign that the duplicate mark is false. – Brilliand Nov 7 at 22:10
  • This one needs to be reopened. We have not actually got a question about this. We have one about casting a copy, but that is different to copying a spell that's already cast. – doppelgreener Nov 8 at 13:52

No, the copy is not cast, and would not trigger Paradox Engine.

From the Gatherer Rulings on League Guildmage:

10/5/2018 The copy is created on the stack, so it’s not “cast.” Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won’t trigger.

Paradox engine cares only if you cast the spell, and a copy of a spell made by League Guildmage is not cast.

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.