I am building a Commander deck with Muldrotha, the Gravetide as the Commander. During my deckbuilding, I remembered there is such a thing as a "Tribal" card type. Is Tribal one of the supported card types that can be cast from the graveyard using Muldrotha's ability?

up vote 16 down vote accepted

Tribal is a card type but not a permanent type. So Tribal counts for cards like Tarmogoyf, but not Muldrotha, the Gravetide.

From the comprehensive rules:

110.4. There are five permanent types: artifact, creature, enchantment, land, and planeswalker.

300.1. The card types are artifact, conspiracy, creature, enchantment, instant, land, phenomenon, plane, planeswalker, scheme, sorcery, tribal, and vanguard.

No, Tribal is not a permanent type.

From the Comprehensive Rules[1], Section 110:

110.4. There are five permanent types: artifact, creature, enchantment, land, and planeswalker. Instant and sorcery cards can’t enter the battlefield and thus can’t be permanents. Some tribal cards can enter the battlefield and some can’t, depending on their other card types. See section 3, “Card Types.”

[1] Comprehensive Rules PDF
as well as Gamepedia.

  • 2
    Tribal is not a supertype like Legendary. It is a regular card type, like Sorcery or Creature. – murgatroid99 Nov 12 at 20:17
  • Incidentally, the page number of comp rules isn't necessary. The rule number is considered enough of a citation, since that's more useful for pinpointing the location of the text. (a lot of people refer to the .txt version of the rules because there's less to load, which doesn't have page numbers.) – Arcanist Lupus Nov 12 at 20:28
  • 1
    TIL! Turns out my answer is not as good as I thought ;) – Dirty Beach Nov 12 at 21:28

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.