This question already has an answer here:

What abilities target Ashenmoor Liege that triggers 'Whenever Ashenmoor Liege becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, that player loses 4 life.' Would deathtouch qualify?

marked as duplicate by BJ Myers, Arcanist Lupus, GendoIkari magic-the-gathering Nov 15 at 6:53

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

Deathtouch does not qualify because it doesn't target. Note Ashenmoor Liege says "... becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls". Spells and abilities that target will use the word 'target' (Auras also count as targeted spells). For example, the text of Seal Away says (emphasis mine):

When Seal Away enters the battlefield, exile target tapped creature an opponent controls until Seal Away leaves the battlefield.

So casting Seal Away on Ashenmoor Liege triggers the ability. Deathtouch's text, however, says:

Deathtouch (Any amount of damage this deals to a creature is enough to destroy it.)

Hence it doesn't target, and it doesn't trigger the ability.

  • 1
    "Spells and abilities that target will use the word 'target'" There is one big exception to that, and that's Aura spells. They target even though they do not say so. – Arthur Nov 15 at 4:27

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.