Situation:

My opponent has an Oblivion Ring exiling my Wirewood Savage. I play Beast Within targeting the Oblivion Ring.

The following things will happen:

  • The oblivion ring will be destroyed
  • A beast will be put on the battlefield
  • My Wirewood Savage will come back

But in what order? I want to know whether or not I'll be able to draw a card by Wirewood Savage's effect.

up vote 8 down vote accepted

You will not draw a card.

When a spell or ability resolves it resolves fully, then all abilities that were triggered during that resolution are put on the stack immediately after.

Beast Within resolves fully, destroying Oblivion Ring and creating a beast. Oblivion Ring's 'leaves the battlefield' ability it put on the stack. The ability resolves, bringing back Wirewood Savage.

Modern versions of Oblivion Ring such as Ixalan's Binding use a different template. For those, you would draw a card.

Ixalan's Binding reads

When Ixalan's Binding enters the battlefield, exile target nonland permanent an opponent controls until Ixalan's Binding leaves the battlefield.

This creates a one-shot effect (exiling a permanent) that lasts "until" Ixalan's Binding leaves the battlefield. As per rule 610.3:

610.3. Some one-shot effects cause an object to change zones “until” a specified event occurs. A second one-shot effect is created immediately after the specified event. This second one-shot effect returns the object to its previous zone.

Wirewood Savage would return to the battlefield immediately after Ixalan's Binding leaves play. Then you would create a Beast token, and because Wirewood Savage is in play, Wirewood Savage would trigger.

  • So one-shot effects can happen halfway through the resolution of a spell or ability? They don't have to wait until a player next has priority? – user3490 Nov 21 at 16:25

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.