Today we had a situation. Player legally picked up discard pile. All he had left in hand were dead cards and wild cards. Is there a rule about which should be discarded first?


There is no rule specifying what type of cards you discard so it is up to the player to decide if they want to discard a dead card or a wild card.

Canasta Rules

When a player has melded his cards, he ends his turn by discarding a card. At that point, his melded cards are checked to see if they conform to the canasta rules. Discarding a card is not necessary if the player can go out by melding all of his cards.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.