For example, Cavalry Drillmaster has two enters the battlefield effects separated with an and:

When Cavalry Drillmaster enters the battlefield, target creature gets +2/+0 and gains first strike until end of turn.

Do both effects last until the end of the turn or just first strike? Where is this defined in the rules?

up vote 2 down vote accepted

They all last until the end of the turn, not just first strike. Since it's hard to keep track of these abilities for a longer period, permanent boosts (or curses) almost always use 'counters', like a +1/+1 counter, which stay on the card as a visible representation. (There are a handful of exceptions like Figure of Destiny.)

So if the +2/+0 boost would be permanent, it would have read something like this:

When Cavalry Drillmaster enters the battlefield, choose target creature. Put a +2/+0 on that creature. That creature gains first strike until end of turn.

Note that the effect has now been split in two sentences, to indicate the difference in duration.

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.