2

This question already has an answer here:

I’m playing Catan and my brother-in-law has 9 points with the longest road. I was sitting at 7 points and another player had a pretty long road with only 5 points.

So I gave that other player brick and wood so they could take the longest road. I ended up winning the game, and that was probably the only way I could have won.

Would that be illegal if I didn’t accept anything for the brick and wood? Would it be illegal if I accepted one sheep for say, two brick and two wood? I only did the trades on my turn.

marked as duplicate by Toon Krijthe, mmathis, Joe W, Nij, ryanyuyu Nov 26 '18 at 0:36

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 1
    Not a dup. The linked Question is about a very specific and different scenario. The Answer to the linked Question only answers half of this Question. – ikegami Nov 24 '18 at 20:45
  • 1
    The linked question asks if a move that's legal in the rules should be allowed. This has nothing to do with this question. Voting to reopen. – ikegami Nov 26 '18 at 1:56
  • @ikegami - Completely a dup. The motivation here might be different, but both parts of Rick's question are answered by the various answers on the linked question. – AndyT Nov 26 '18 at 15:06
  • @Ikegami Agree with AndyT. This is enough of a dupe to leave closed, at the very least the answer is exactly the same. The rules do not take into account motivation for trading for nothing, they simply state "You may not give away cards." – Andrew Nov 26 '18 at 15:09
  • @AndyT, That's not true at all. "Would it be illegal if I accepted one sheep for say, two brick and two wood? " is not answered anywhere in the answers to the other question. Furthermore, it's baffling to me that you think it's ok to direct people to people wondering about the trading rules to that very complicated Q&A. That's not the spirit of the site at all. – ikegami Nov 26 '18 at 15:25
5

Permitted:

  • One can trade a number of cards for a different number of cards.
    ⇒ You could accept a sheep.

Forbidden:

  • One can't trade for nothing.
    ⇒ You can't accept nothing.
  • One can't trade for resources of the same type as those being traded away.
    ⇒ You can't accept any amount of brick or lumber.

The following are the rules concerning Domestic Trades:

On your turn, you may trade resources with the other players (after rolling for resource production). You and the other players negotiate the terms of your trades—such as which cards will be exchanged. You may trade as many times as you can, using single or multiple cards, but you may not give away cards (i.e., “trade” 0 cards for 1 or more cards).

Important: While it is your turn you must be a part of all trades, the other players may not trade amongst themselves.

Example: It is Pete’s turn. He needs one brick to build a road. He has 2 lumber and 3 ore. Pete asks aloud, “Who will give me 1 brick for 1 ore?” Beth answers, “If you give me 3 ore, I’ll give you a brick.” Cooper interjects, “I’ll give you 1 brick if you give me 1 lumber and 1 ore.” Pete accepts Cooper's offer and trades a lumber and an ore for a brick. Note Beth may not trade with Cooper, since it is Pete’s turn.

The following are the rules concerning Trades:

After you roll for resource production, you may trade with other players (domestic trade) or with the bank (maritime trade). If you decide not to trade during your turn, no one can trade. You may trade with another player between your turns, but only if it is his turn and he elects to trade with you. You cannot trade with the bank during another player’s turn. You may not give away cards. You may trade as long as you have Resource Cards. You may not trade Development Cards. You may not trade like resources (e.g., 2 wool for 1 wool).

Emphasis in both quotes is mine.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.