4

So, if my opponent activates a card that makes me select one monster to destroy, I have 2 monster, 1 unaffected by card effects while the other can, can I select the unaffected?

I mean, as far as I know effects resolve against cards unaffected by card effects but as it says, it is unaffected, so, can I do that?

And would the same apply if I activate a card that makes me destroy one monster I own and I select the monster unaffected by effects?

  • 1
    Please, include the specific card names so we can help you better. – DarkCygnus Nov 28 '18 at 0:16
  • 1
    Well... is it a specific Blue eyes? Only some are immune to destruction. Without mentioning specific cards it's hard to give a prop answer – DarkCygnus Nov 28 '18 at 2:53
  • 1
    @DarkCygnus It probably is Blue-eyes Chaos Max Dragon. That one cannot be targeted or destroyed by card effects. So your answer does cover this scenario correctly. – kyudosai Nov 28 '18 at 15:40
  • 1
    @kyudosai that card was the one in my mind, but it never hurts to be completely sure :) – DarkCygnus Nov 28 '18 at 16:29
  • 1
    Any blue eyes, because The Ultimate Creature of destruction allows me to select one blue eyes and make it unaffected by other effects – Vorlox Nov 28 '18 at 18:10
3

Update: Seems that the card in question is The Ultimate Creature of Destruction, targeting any Blue-eyes monster. In that case, my previous answer holds.


So, if my opponent activates a card that makes me select one monster to destroy, I have 2 monster, 1 unaffected by card effects while the other can, can I select the unaffected?

Yes you can.

You can select it and when the effect resolves it will not be destroyed, as The Ultimate Creature of Destruction made it unaffected bu such effect.

And would the same apply if I activate a card that makes me destroy one monster I own and I select the monster unaffected by effects?

Again, yes.

If you monster is unaffected then the effect will resolve and such monster remain unaffected same as explained before...

However, let's imagine the card targets and the monster can't be targeted, then that would be something you can't do. However, this is not the case for The Ultimate Creature of Destruction, which "only" makes your monster unaffected by card effects (contrary to, say, making him un-targeteable).

  • 3
    Might be usefull to note that to destroy a monster and to send it to the graveyard are very different things. So if a monster like 'blue-eyes chaos max dragon' is protected from destruction, it would not be protected from something like 'rivalry of warlords'. – kyudosai Nov 28 '18 at 15:56
  • 1
    @kyudosai true, but I feel a bit uncomfortable including such info without knowing the specific cards, as I would be deviating from the core of the question. Besides, I tend to write a lot on YGO answers :/ I am trying to condense my answers :) – DarkCygnus Nov 28 '18 at 16:28
  • @kyudosai updated my answer, as OP specified some of the cards used. Still, that trap card would make the dragon unaffected by card effects (for this turn), so even Rivalry of Warlords would be ineffective against it! :O – DarkCygnus Nov 29 '18 at 0:05

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.