If I gain control of my opponent's creature (a Ravenous Chupacabra, for instance), does that creature's "enter the battlefield" trigger happen again?

New contributor
Sue is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering. Check out our Code of Conduct.

No. Taking control of your opponent's creature will not trigger an "enters the battlefield" ability.

The glossary section of the Comprehensive Rules defines "Enters the Battlefield" as follows (emphasis mine):

Enters the Battlefield

A nontoken permanent “enters the battlefield” when it’s moved onto the battlefield from another zone. A token “enters the battlefield” when it’s created. See rules 403.3, 603.6a, 603.6d, and 614.12.

In your example, the Ravenous Chupacabra was already on the battlefield. Changing its controller does not cause it to change zones (i.e. it never leaves the battlefield) so the creature does not "enter the battlefield."

  • 3
    Just to clarify a common misconception, there's only one battlefield in the game, shared by all players. – DJ Pirtu Dec 6 at 9:19

Your Answer

Sue is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.