3

Can you add the same hit card as someone else did?

Suppose I'm playing with 4 people, it's my turn and I laid down my phase and then hit on a run of 4,5,6,7, ... I added an 8 and 9. The next player has her phase and wants to play the same hit that I just did. She wants to add an 8,9 and 10. I told her she can't add the 8 and 9, only the 10, because I already added the 8 and 9.

The rules say this:

HITTING: Hitting is the way to get rid of leftover cards after making a Phase. You make a hit by putting a card directly on a Phase already laid down. The card must properly fit with the cards already down.

EXAMPLES: You may add one or more “4s” to a player’s existing set of “4s.” You may add a “2” to a player’s existing run of “3”, “4”, “5”, “6”. You may also add a “7” and an “8” to this run, if you have them. You may add one or more green cards to a player’s seven green cards in Phase 8. You may also add a “Wild” card of any color to any of these card situations. Before you can make a hit, your own Phase must already be laid down. You may hit only during your turn. You may hit your own cards, another player’s cards, or both.

2

You were correct

There's two key phrases in the Hit rule to support this,

You make a hit by putting a card directly on a Phase already laid down. The card must properly fit with the cards already down.

The first phrase deals with your cards being added to the played Phase and not a separate "also could legally go here" pile. In effect, your card becomes part of the phase. This leads to the second part: since your card is now part of the Phase, a duplicate would not properly fit (at least in this example of a straight Phase).

Your opponent can still play the 10 because that will properly fit the run, and either of you could subsequently add a 3, or 11, etc.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.