If Olivia Voldaren is enchanted with Fists of the Demigod and you activate the ability to deal damage to a target creature, does this damage come in the form of -1/-1 counters? If it does, and the target is a Spirit en-Kor, can the Spirit en-Kor redirect the -1/-1 counter?


Yes, Wither applies to all damage, not only combat damage.

702.79a Wither is a static ability. Damage dealt to a creature by a source with wither isn’t marked on that creature. Rather, it causes that source’s controller to put that many -1/-1 counters on that creature. See rule 119.3.

Yes, Spirit en-Kor can still use its ability to redirect the damage. Olivia Voldaren is still dealing damage, it's just that the effects of that damage are different than normal, so the Spirit's ability can be used. And when the damage is redirected, the source of the damage is still Olivia, so Wither still applies.

  • 1
    I cannot find any rule to back up my last sentence, though it is implied by the last ruling on Spirit en-Kor. Anyone know a CR that makes it clear that redirecting damage does not change the source (or type)?
    – GendoIkari
    Dec 14 '18 at 21:13
  • Redirection of damage is a type of replacement effect so I imagine it would be handled similarly to multiple replacement effects on one event.
    – Malco
    Dec 14 '18 at 21:18
  • RE: CR rules 614.9. defines redireciton and replacement effects in general are outlined in 614 but it is pretty long
    – Malco
    Dec 14 '18 at 21:23
  • 2
    As the name suggests, redirection simply redirects the damage. It doesn't prevent the damage then cause the redirector to deal damage.
    – ikegami
    Dec 15 '18 at 18:19
  • 1
    "The next 1 damage that would be dealt to Spirit en-Kor this turn is dealt to target creature you control instead." It seems pretty clear to me that it's the same damage, with the same source and the same wither modification. The spirit just changes where the damage hits.
    – Arthur
    Dec 15 '18 at 23:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.