I have Herald of Secret Streams, with his ability

Creatures you control with +1/+1 counters on them can't be blocked.

Say I were to put +1/+0 or +0/+1 on a creature, would Herald's ability still apply or does it have to be a +1/+1?

  • 2
    Be careful about using terms such as "activate" here; it may make sense in English, but to activate an ability in MTG means something different than what this card does. – GendoIkari Dec 18 '18 at 20:38
  • Why do you think it means +1/+0 if it says +1/+1??? – ikegami Dec 20 '18 at 6:57

No, it has to be a +1/+1 counter. A counter is a very specific thing, see the comprehensive rules:

121.1a A +X/+Y counter on a creature or on a creature card in a zone other than the battlefield, where X and Y are numbers, adds X to that object’s power and Y to that object’s toughness. Similarly, -X/-Y counters subtract from power and toughness. See rule 613.3.

+1/+0 and +0/+1 counters do not magically combine into +1/+1 counters; the only counters that affect each other are +1/+1 counters and -1/-1 counters:

121.3. If a permanent has both a +1/+1 counter and a -1/-1 counter on it, N +1/+1 and N -1/-1 counters are removed from it as a state-based action, where N is the smaller of the number of +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters on it. See rule 704.

Note that +X/+Y counters other than +1/+1 and -1/-1, like +1/+0 and +0/+1, are very rare; those boosts mostly happen as temporary effects (i.e. a target creature gains +1/+0 until end of turn). This is entirely different from a counter.

| improve this answer | |

The ability refers specifically to "+1/+1 counters", so that is the only thing is would care about. A creature with a +1/+0 counter, or a +0/+1 counter, would not be affected.

It is worth noting that Magic stopped using +1/+0 and +0/+1 counters. Old cards may still have them, but they haven't been seen on any new cards in a long time. Here is an article from 2008 explaining this decision.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.