If I'm at -3 life and not dead from let's say a Platinum Angel. If I play a Beacon of Immortality, do I go to 6 life? Is it as simple as the primary school maths indicates or is there some other consideration?

  • 7
    Just wondering: what do you think 2 times -3 is? That is primary school math ... and the answer is -6.
    – user91988
    Commented Dec 19, 2018 at 18:15
  • haha, for some reason i thought you where x -2.
    – Neil Meyer
    Commented Dec 19, 2018 at 18:49
  • 7
    The answer is right there in the Rulings section on the page you link. This warrants a downvote for poor research.
    – jpmc26
    Commented Dec 19, 2018 at 23:10
  • 5
    @jpmc26 I linked the page, not OP.
    – Hackworth
    Commented Dec 20, 2018 at 8:51
  • 4
    @jpmc26 We link cards by default with our autolink tag, which links to Gatherer, the official authority on card wordings, so that everyone can immediately see what the the question is even about. Whether or not the question could be answered by that link is irrelevant. An answer still needs to provide some sort of reference, where a CR quote is preferred.
    – Hackworth
    Commented Dec 20, 2018 at 11:28

1 Answer 1


You would go to negative 6 life.

When calculating or comparing numbers, the game uses the actual value of whatever is involved in the calculation. Usually the result of such a calculation can't be negative, but doubling a player's life is one of the few exceptions:

107.1b Most of the time, the Magic game uses only positive numbers and zero. You can’t choose a negative number, deal negative damage, gain negative life, and so on. However, it’s possible for a game value, such as a creature’s power, to be less than zero. If a calculation or comparison needs to use a negative value, it does so. If a calculation that would determine the result of an effect yields a negative number, zero is used instead, unless that effect doubles or sets to a specific value a player’s life total or a creature’s power and/or toughness.

  • 8
    Indeed, the rulings on Beacon of Immortality's gatherer page says "If you double a negative life total, you do the real math. A life total of -10 becomes -20."
    – Giuseppe
    Commented Dec 19, 2018 at 18:38

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .