We had a family scrabble game that erupted into a debate. I have searched these forums, and while I found several threads that seemed to apply to this scenario, it wasn’t quite clear.
The question is whether or not a premium word square (double or triple words) applies to all words created during the current play or not. I’ll attempt to articulate the scenario.
First move: TO was played vertically.
Second move: FREES was played horizontally and the E of FREES created TOE. The S of FREES landed on a double word square.
Question: The current play resulted in two new words, TOE and FREES. Does the double word on the S of FREES count for both words or just FREES? If not, why not?
The rules don’t seem to address this scenario when two words are created or under what conditions thus applies or doesn’t.