1

The Dance with Dragons expansion for the Game of Thrones Board game includes a Walder Frey combat card, whose text reads:

Any player (other than your opponent) who grants support to your opponent must grant that support to you instead.

When playing with the Mother of Dragons vassal rules, could this card be used to affect your opponent's vassal that is supporting them in the combat?

For example, say the Arryn player enters combat with the Stark/Bolton player, and Baratheon, who is a vassal of house Arryn, has a support order in an adjacent zone. If Stark/Bolton plays Walder Frey, do they receive Baratheon's support instead of Arryn?

  • This question brought our game to a half-hour halt as we debated the intent of the card vs the rules as written. We determined that, as originally written, the intent of the card would probably be to allow for this kind of scenario. However, given that the cards were not retroactively edited for the new expansion, and observing the language of the MoD rules, clear distinctions are made between the terms 'vassal' and 'player'. The wording of the rules does not seem to support this use of Walder. – pmain8 Jan 4 '19 at 16:26
  • We eventually just flipped a coin to keep the game going, but never resolved whether the originalist or textualist interpretation is correct. – pmain8 Jan 4 '19 at 16:31
1

We played it with the "intent" of the card. So your "opponent" is Arryn, that is the person the battle is directly against. The vassal is another "player" so their support for Arryn becomes your support.

|improve this answer|||||

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.