0

I wanted to know if you snap a +4 or +2 does it reset the amount the person picks up?

closed as unclear what you're asking by AndyT, Toon Krijthe, Andrew, Joe W, Glorfindel Mar 29 at 8:13

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 2
    My understanding was that in the original rules a draw2 or draw4 function as a skip in addition to making the following player draw cards. Since the player on the receiving end is being skipped they cannot prevent or respond to this. So, if player 1 does a draw2, then player 2 loses their turn and draws two cards. Later player 3 can also play a draw2 which will cause player 4 to lose their turn and draw two cards as well. – JMoravitz Jan 8 at 15:13
  • 1
    Are you looking for the original UNO rules or the most commonly played rules of the UNO stacking house rules? – Ola Ström Mar 15 at 9:59
  • 1
    Your question is unclear, the word "snap" does not appear in the rules. It is unclear whether Player 1 played +2, player 2 picked up 2, and player 3 now wants to play a +2; or whether player 1 played a blue +2, player 2 picked up 2, and now player 5 wants to "snap" by playing exactly the same card (blue +2) skipping player 3 and 4s turns - this would be a house rule, not an official one. It is also unclear whether you are playing the "stacking" rule or not. – AndyT Mar 28 at 12:20
2

Chaning/Snapping/Stacking draw cards does not reset the penalty amount. E.G Player 1 plays draw 2, player 2 plays another draw 2, player 3, having no draw 2 cards, must draw 4 cards.

From wikipedia as a part of the house rules:

Progressive Uno: If a draw card is played, and the following player has the same card, they can play that card and "stack" the penalty, which adds to the current penalty and passes it to the following player.

  • 5
    You should note that stacking draw cards is a house rule and is not part of the official rules. – Joe W Jan 7 at 12:39
  • doesn't matter as the question holder is aware of this but i've edited anyway – L_Church Jan 7 at 13:02
  • 3
    From reading the question it does not appear to be stated as a house rule and there have been questions before about how the rules change due to chaining draw cards where people did not realize that they where house rules. – Joe W Jan 7 at 13:15
  • fair, just seemed like an obvious i want to know this, i dont care if its housed – L_Church Jan 7 at 13:17
  • The wiki article linked does not specify that if following this house rule that the earlier functionality of draw2/draw4 is ignored, in particular the skipping aspect. Would it not be player1 plays a draw2, player 2 has his turn skipped and picks up two cards, then later player 3 also plays a draw2 followed by player 4 having to (as a result of the house rule) pick up 2+2 cards? How is it in your example that player 2 played a card? Or is it that with this house rule the recipient of a draw2 is given an opportunity to respond with another draw2 else gets skipped? – JMoravitz Jan 8 at 15:22

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.