15

How does the card Homeward Path work with cards like In Bolas's Clutches? Homeward Path would imply that you still get it back, but those types of effects continue as long as the creature is enchanted, at least from a surface level inpsection of the enchantment.

2 Answers 2

12

Even though Homeward Path looks to have an instantaneous effect, it's actually continuous:

611.1. A continuous effect modifies characteristics of objects, modifies control of objects, or affects players or the rules of the game, for a fixed or indefinite period.

Since both continuous effects apply in layer 2:

613.1b Layer 2: Control-changing effects are applied.

you have to apply them in timestamp order:

613.2. Within layers 1–6, apply effects from characteristic-defining abilities first (see rule 604.3), then all other effects in timestamp order (see rule 613.6). Note that dependency may alter the order in which effects are applied within a layer. (See rule 613.7.)

If Homeward Path is activated after In Bolas's Clutches is cast, the owner will get the creature back:

613.6. Within a layer or sublayer, determining which order effects are applied in is usually done using a timestamp system. An effect with an earlier timestamp is applied before an effect with a later timestamp.

(quotes are from the Comprehensive Rules)

21
  • 2
    aren't all control change effects continuous? They would have to be to change an objects characteristics?
    – Malco
    Jan 8, 2019 at 17:48
  • 1
    @Malco I think that's the key, but the Rules do not explicitly state one-shot effects can't change characteristics (just that continuous effects do so).
    – Glorfindel
    Jan 8, 2019 at 17:54
  • 1
    @Glorfindel Yes, until now I always thought that "you control target creature" was a continuous effect, while "gain control of target creature" was a one-shot effect.
    – GendoIkari
    Jan 8, 2019 at 17:59
  • 1
    I just now realized you were two different people.... RE: "611.1. A continuous effect modifies characteristics of objects, modifies control of objects, or affects players or the rules of the game, for a fixed or indefinite period." is defining what a CE is, ie anything that mods charateristics/control of obj is a CE
    – Malco
    Jan 8, 2019 at 18:02
  • 1
    Well ... almost. It's logically equivalent to "a cow has four legs and eats grass", which defines some properties of a cow. But a sheep is not a cow, and still has four legs and eats grass.
    – Glorfindel
    Jan 8, 2019 at 18:10
3

Seems that the creature's owner would regain control of the creature, even though In Bolas's Clutches stays in play:

https://www.mtgsalvation.com/forums/magic-fundamentals/magic-rulings/magic-rulings-archives/292336-homeward-path-mind-control

Both create continuous effects, the most recent effect is the one that's active.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .