0

Single Color Match Bonus: at the end of your turn you may lay one card from your hand face-up in the Center Row.

Double Color Match: at the end of your turn you (1) lay one card from your hand face-up in the Center Row and (2) all other players must draw one card from the Draw Pile.

May I choose not to lay down a card for a Single Color Match? It might be better to end my turn with two cards instead of one, and the word "may" implies a decision; further, the word "may" is absent from the Double Color Match passage of the rules.

  • 1
    In both English and common board game jargon, "you may do X" denotes that doing "X" is optional. Do you have any reason to believe otherwise here? – ikegami Jan 11 at 22:12
  • Well, I guess maybe I thought it was an oversight to use "may" on only one of the two rules. If that's intended, then it's only optional to lay the card on a single color match. I don't have any good reason, though. Also, I was not familiar with common board game jargon. – user45266 2 days ago
  • Ah yes, good point – ikegami yesterday
  • I would think that the use of may for one and not the other is intentional. This could be a way for them to balance out the strength of the bonuses. – icirellik 11 hours ago

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.