2

I'm not too familiar with Yu-Gi-Oh, but I was wondering, what happens, when Player 2 (the one going second) draws all Exodia, the Forbidden One pieces in his opening hand?

Does he win automatically, before Player 1 goes into his Standby Phase, or does it have to wait, until the Draw/Standby phase of Player 2?

New contributor
Minix is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering. Check out our Code of Conduct.
3

Does he win automatically, before Player 1 goes into his Standby Phase, or does it have to wait, until the Draw/Standby phase of Player 2?

Exodia's win condition (note the word, it's not an effect), triggers immediately and not only in your turn, so you would win during the start of the Draw Phase of player's 1 turn.

Do note that this is not so common to happen, but it could eventually.

From Exodia's rulings, emphasis mine:

At the start of the Duel, if the player going second starts off with all five pieces of "Exodia the Forbidden One" in his hand, then he wins the Duel before the first player draws his card. The same applies if the player going first starts off with all five pieces. If both players have all five pieces of "Exodia the Forbidden One" in their hands at the start of the Duel, then the Duel ends in a DRAW.[13]

  • 2
    And more generally, the zero turn victory. – Nij Jan 11 at 21:04
  • Interesting link, thanks :) – DarkCygnus Jan 11 at 21:22
  • Was going to ask if it would be a zero turn kill. Perfect :) – Minix Jan 11 at 23:44
  • Going further than the question, what would happen if both players draw all pieces for their opening hands? Would it be a draw? – Joe W Jan 11 at 23:50
  • @JoeW yes, the ruling also says that :) it's further down on the text I quoted: "If both players have all five pieces of "Exodia the Forbidden One" in their hands at the start of the Duel, then the Duel ends in a DRAW." – DarkCygnus Jan 11 at 23:51

Your Answer

Minix is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.