Our family is new to Catan, please help settle a rule interpretaion question.

Does the player who activates the robber by rolling a 7 also fall victim to the "lose-half-your-resource-cards" penalty or are they immune from it because they rolled the dice?

New contributor
Tel is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering. Check out our Code of Conduct.

a) Rolling a “7”✹ and Activating the Robber If you roll a “7,” no one receives any resources. Instead, every player who has more than 7 Resource Cards must select half (rounded down) of his Resource Cards and return them to the bank.


There's no mention of an exemption for the player who rolled a 7.

  • 4
    The word 'every' is explicit. There are games where similar mechanics don't effect other players (the 'debt' in expansions to Seven Wonders) but in this case the rules are very clear. – StartPlayer Jan 12 at 10:39

Your Answer

Tel is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.