The card text of Festering March is as follows:

Creatures your opponents control get -1/-1 until end of turn. Exile Festering March with three time counters on it.

It appears that you can cast this card repeatedly as you suspend it as part of its resolution.

1 Answer 1


Yes, that's right. Otherwise, it would just be an overcosted Make Obsolete. Even though the phrase is "Exile Festering March with three time counters on it." and not "Suspend Festering March with three time counters on it.", the card is still suspended according to the Comprehensive Rules,

702.61b A card is “suspended” if it’s in the exile zone, has suspend, and has a time counter on it.

and removing time counters and casting the spell without its mana cost works just like if you had suspended it from your hand:

702.61a Suspend is a keyword that represents three abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the card with suspend is in a player’s hand. The second and third are triggered abilities that function in the exile zone. “Suspend N—[cost]” means “If you could begin to cast this card by putting it onto the stack from your hand, you may pay [cost] and exile it with N time counters on it. This action doesn’t use the stack,” and “At the beginning of your upkeep, if this card is suspended, remove a time counter from it,” and “When the last time counter is removed from this card, if it’s exiled, play it without paying its mana cost if able. If you can’t, it remains exiled. If you cast a creature spell this way, it gains haste until you lose control of the spell or the permanent it becomes.”

  • 2
    Note that there is no card that says anything like "suspend [cardname]"; it's always "exile with x time counters". Your answer makes it sound like the former would be the expected wording.
    – Hackworth
    Commented Jan 13, 2019 at 23:16
  • Festering March is part of a cycle of suspend cards which all would resuspend themselves with three time counters every time they resolve. Chronomantic Escape in particular was rather popular, because three of them make you forever immune from being attacked (unless the opponent had a counterspell) Commented Jan 14, 2019 at 2:04
  • @Hackworth right, it doesn't; still, I think this where the OP's confusion is coming from.
    – Glorfindel
    Commented Jan 14, 2019 at 6:13

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .