1

First of all I apologize if my question is hard to understand, I'm not familiar with Backgammon glossary.

Let's say you rolled 3 and 6. In a certain situation the only way to play both 3 and 6 is to play them from one of your checkers from which you have to play 3 then 6 (6 is initially blocked). Now my question is are you allowed to play 3 from another checker into a position where you can't play 6 from any position anymore? And if there's a rule regarding this, can you please tell me what is it called?

4

A basic rule of backgammon is that you must play in a way that maximises the use of your pips.

If you have a board that can use both 3 and 6, you must choose such move over any move that only uses 3 or only uses 6.

If you have a board that allows the use of 3 or 6 but not both, you must choose a move that uses only 6 over any move that uses only 3.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.