2

I have the card Phyrexian Unlife on the battlefield, and I have less than 0 life. If I cast Teferi's Protection, what happens? Do I lose the game because Phyrexian Unlife is phased out? Or does it still keep me alive?

6

If you have zero or less life, a phased out Phyrexian Unlife will not save you from losing the game. Under the rules for Phasing, rule 702.25b says

If a permanent phases out, its status changes to "phased out." Except for rules and effects that specifically mention phased-out permanents, a phased-out permanent is treated as though it does not exist. It can't affect or be affected by anything else in the game. A permanent that phases out is removed from combat. (See rule 506.4.)

Since the phased-out Phyrexian Unlife can't affect anything else in the game, that means it can't affect whether you lose the game from having 0 or less life.

  • Aright, interesting. That is definitely something to consider. – Shadow Z. Feb 10 at 17:33

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.