19

What happens when I reanimate a creature with Animate Dead which has protection from black? Will the creature keep being in play without the enchantment or die? Or can the creature be a legal target even in the graveyard?

27

You can cast Animate Dead on a creature card with protection from black because protection doesn't work in the graveyard. The creature will return to the battlefield and protection starts working again, so Animate Dead will go to the graveyard immediately. As a consequence of that, you have to sacrifice the creature, but the creature will stay on the battlefield long enough to interact with it.

Animate Dead starts out as an aura that can "Enchant creature card in a graveyard". While a card is in the graveyard, it has all its abilities including protection, but they don't work unless otherwise stated:

112.6. Abilities of an instant or sorcery spell usually function only while that object is on the stack. Abilities of all other objects usually function only while that object is on the battlefield. The exceptions are as follows: [none apply]

Therefore you can target and enchant that creature card with Animate Dead. While resolving, its effect will try to attach it to the creature, but that creature, in contrast to the creature card in the graveyard, has a functional protection from black, so it will not attach:

702.16c A permanent or player with protection can’t be enchanted by Auras that have the stated quality. Such Auras attached to the permanent or player with protection will be put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action. (See rule 704, “State-Based Actions.”)

701.3a [..] An Aura, Equipment, or Fortification can’t be attached to an object it couldn’t enchant, equip, or fortify, respectively.

Next, the active player gains priority:

116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.

Before a player gains priority, state-based actions are checked:

704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, “Timing and Priority”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event. [..]

Animate Dead is not attached to an object, so it goes to the graveyard:

704.5m If an Aura is attached to an illegal object or player, or is not attached to an object or player, that Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard.

Therefore, before the active player gains priority, Animate Dead will leave the battlefield and its sacrifice ability triggers. It is a normal triggered ability that uses the stack, so the creature remains on the battlefield without Animate Dead attached to it until that ability resolves. Players can respond to that ability with instant-speed spells and abilities, for example by bouncing the creature or using its activated abilities.

  • Nitpick re "When it has finished resolving and enchants the creature with (now functioning) protection": When Animate Dead resolves and is put on the battlefield its target is still in the graveyard, and when AD's etb ability finishes resolving, AD does not enchant the returned creature because of 701.3a "An Aura [...] can't be attached to an object it couldn't enchant [...]". Of course 704.5m applies anyway. – Michał Politowski Feb 12 at 20:40
  • @MichałPolitowski Thanks, fixed. – Hackworth Feb 12 at 20:51
  • 1
    Next, the AP gains priority:... followed by Before a player gains priority,... seems a bit at odds, wording wise. – Veskah Feb 13 at 4:47
  • @Veskah, That's how it's written in the rules, and there really isn't another way of saying it. Gaining priority is what causes SBAs to be checked/performed, but it happens before priority is gained. – ikegami Feb 13 at 7:47
10

The creature will die, see the rulings below the card:

If the creature put onto the battlefield has protection from black—or if the creature can’t legally be enchanted by Animate Dead for another reason—Animate Dead won’t be able to attach to it. It will be put into the graveyard as a state-based action, causing its delayed triggered ability to trigger. When the trigger resolves, if the creature’s still on the battlefield, its controller will sacrifice it.

So the creature does enter the battlefield, since in the graveyard it doesn't have protection from black. This might be important for other triggers like Ajani's Welcome. But it's guaranteed to leave the battlefield very soon after.

5

I assume you mean Animate Dead. If so the rulings on the Gatherer page state:

If the creature put onto the battlefield has protection from black—or if the creature can’t legally be enchanted by Animate Dead for another reason—Animate Dead won’t be able to attach to it. It will be put into the graveyard as a state-based action, causing its delayed triggered ability to trigger. When the trigger resolves, if the creature’s still on the battlefield, its controller will sacrifice it.

1

The abilities on creature cards while on the graveyard are not relevant unless otherwise stated (same happens on your hand). when you cast Animate Dead, you are able to target the creature with pro black in the graveyard. This creature will then be returned to the battlefield and will be enchanted by Animate Dead. At this point and before you gain priority (or your opponent) state base checks are done, the game realizes that the enchanted is attached to an illegal target and is then sent to the graveyard. This will then trigger Animate Dead's trigger of leaving the battlefield and the creature goes with it.

502.7c A permanent with protection can't be enchanted by enchantments that have the stated quality. Such enchantments enchanting the permanent with protection will be put into their owner;s graveyards as a state-based effect (see rule 420, "state-based effects")

  • Nitpicks: a) Creatures (shorthand for creature permanents) are never in the graveyard, only creature cards. b) Cards in the graveyard do have abilities, at least those printed on them, they just don't work unless otherwise stated. – Hackworth Feb 12 at 14:05
  • @ikegami completely different and wrong example. Creature cards' abilities static or activated do not matter while on the graveyard, unless otherwise stated in the card (like dread wanderer) in this case, a pro black creature in the graveyard does not have rules text stating "can't be targeted by black spells while in the graveyard", therefore the pro black on the creature is not relevant while the creature card is in the graveyard. – fireshark519 Feb 13 at 9:14
  • @ikegami flashback is not stated in the card? lol so you can just try to flashback any instant/sorcery? the fact that it states "Flashback" is the inclusion of an ability that works in the graveyard which is exactly what I wrote. Flashback is a keyword ability on instants and sorceries that allows the player to pay an alternative cost to play the spell directly from their graveyard. – fireshark519 Feb 13 at 9:22
  • @ikegami Really? gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Search/… – Hackworth Feb 13 at 10:23
  • simple example: Bridge from Below. if Bridge from Below is in your graveyard, create a 2/2 black Zombie creature token. @Hackworth apparently key words mean nothing to him though. Stating that keywords that work from graveyards only work because a rule states they work. That's like saying that I can drive a car only because I have a license. Well obviously there will be a rule created when an ability/keyword is created.... – fireshark519 Feb 13 at 10:27

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.