2

Can I move wildcards around, from set to set, to build a canasta?

2

No.

There is no specific rule that I can point to in the various online resources I know to quote; but there is nothing in the rules that says that this would be allowed.

You can add additional cards from your hand to an existing meld; if the rules intended for you to be able to move or remove cards from a meld they would list that as an option.

| improve this answer | |
1

If you look at the rules for melding once a card is in a meld it cannot be picked back up with one exception for a meld that was played this turn which comes with penaltiess.

Rules

After drawing a card, a player may meld cards if (s)he wants to. Cards are melded in columns of at least three cards; e.g. you can meld three Kings, or four Fives. You cannot meld sequences like Four-Five-Six. Once a card has been melded, it cannot be taken back into the hand (except with the Undo meld option).

Note that the rules show a big advantage from not playing wild cards in your melds when possible.

A mixed canasta is worth 300 points, a natural canasta 500 points, and a wildcard canasta 1,000 points.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    I have never heard of a wildcard Canasta; that sounds like something unique to that online implementation. By normal rules; a Meld could never be all wildcards. – GendoIkari Feb 16 '19 at 18:54
  • 1
    @GendoIkari search for Wild Card Melds on this page for example rules. I've played this type of canasta many years ago. It is most certainly not specific to the online implementation. – Andrew Savinykh Mar 19 '19 at 5:55
  • @AndrewSavinykh Interesting, thanks. But it is a variant, not regular rules. – GendoIkari Mar 19 '19 at 14:04

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.