0

When do you use the Monopoly development card? Before or after rolling the dice? Please explain why using the official rules.

  • What version of monolopy are you referring to in rgards to a dev card – Joe W Feb 19 at 22:18
  • 1
    I'm not aware of a 'Dev' card in the Game Monopoly. Is this meant to be a question about Settlers of Catan and when a player can play the Development Card called 'Monopoly'? – StartPlayer Feb 19 at 22:19
  • 1
    I'm voting to close as unclear so we can find out what game this is actually about before proceeding. Answer shouldn't need to make (possibly wrong) guesswork about this. – doppelgreener Feb 19 at 23:16
  • 1
    I'm assuming this is about Catan and retagging it. No version of Monopoly to my knowledge has development cards, whereas Catan does have a development card named "Monopoly" – Zags Feb 20 at 0:29
4

Assuming you're referring to the "Monopoly" development card in Catan (aka The Settlers of Catan), then the official FAQ at Catan.com answers this:

Development Cards in General - May I play Development Cards before rolling the dice?

Yes. Note that you may play only 1 Development Card per turn: if you have played this card before rolling the dice, you are not allowed to play another one afterwards.

So you may play Monopoly before or after rolling the dice. Strategically, it usually makes sense to play it later, since most of the time rolling the dice gives people more cards for you to take, and playing Monopoly before making trades will probably mean people won't want to trade with you. (And, of course, there's the classic move of making a large number of trades for a resource, then playing the Monopoly to take all of those cards back from everyone. It's a move that generally only works once.)

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.