-3

I have an Edgar Markov that is currently attacking as a 10/10. My opponent assigns four creatures with a total of 20 power to block it. Does Edgar kill all of those blockers or does he only kill two of them?

closed as unclear what you're asking by Hackworth, Joe W, Toon Krijthe, Glorfindel, mmathis Feb 22 at 13:16

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 2
    I was trying to improve your question but had to give up halfway into that run-on sentence because I couldn't figure out what youwere trying to say. Please make a better effort to ask your question in a comprehensible way. – Hackworth Feb 21 at 22:40
  • @Hackworth I edited the title based on what I think was being asked if that helps – Joe W Feb 21 at 22:40
  • But yes that is the question – Kaden Feb 21 at 22:42
  • 1
    I was going to write up a summary of the attack phase in the hopes that the answer would be in there somewhere for you, but with an attitude like that I suddenly feel less inclined to help. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ (And I still don't actually know what the question is.) – ConMan Feb 21 at 22:42
  • 1
    It sounds like you are asking how first strike interacts with multiple blockers so it doesn't really matter what the attacking creature is but rather what the power and toughness of the attacking and all the defending creatures is. – Joe W Feb 21 at 22:57
4

The outcome of a battle like this depends on the exact power and toughness of each creature involved.

If Edgar is blocked by four 5/5 creatures, then Edgar will 5 first strike damage to each of two of those creatures, which will die. Then the other two creatures will deal 5 damage each to Edgar, and Edgar will die.

If instead Edgar is blocked by two 4/6 creatures and two 6/4 creatures, then Edgar's controller can choose to deal 4 damage to each of the 6/4 creatures and the other 2 damage to one of the other creatures. In that case, both 6/4 creatures will die and the surviving creatures will only deal a total of 8 damage to Edgar, so Edgar will survive.

In general, the important thing to look at is not just the total power and toughness of the creatures involved, but also how it is distributed among the creatures. The basic question is whether the creature with first strike can kill enough of the other creatures that the remaining blockers don't have enough power.

  • Thank u so much yes that is the best awnser ever – Kaden Feb 21 at 23:13
  • I also have a question about overwhelming splendor – Kaden Feb 21 at 23:28
1

First strike happens first. Edgar kills as many blockers as he can. Those blockers are gone.

Next, the blockers that are left damage Edgar. Edgar doesn't get to damage them again, he already got his chance. Maybe Edgar survives, maybe he doesn't, but he doesn't kill any more blockers.

(If Edgar had "double strike", then he would be able to attack again in the second part, and kill more blockers.)

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.