If a game effect is supposed to happen to something which is nearest to something else, and more than one qualifying thing is equally near, and the specific effect does not designate a tie-breaker, how is the tie resolved? Is it the choice of the person resolving the effect? Or, if it is possible (as in the case of the card that prompted this question, Footsteps, which has as it's best result "You and the nearest explorer gain 1 Might.") does it happen to all potential targets?
(In the game I was playing where it came up, there were two explorers who were each 3 rooms away from the explorer who drew the card. The question then became, does the explorer who drew the card choose one of them or did it happen to both of them. No support for either case could be found in rulebook, FAQ, or this site. So the question has now been posed here.)
I would prefer a general answer, rather than one more specifically about Footsteps, as knowing the appropriate way to resolve the general situation is far more important than any specific ruling about the individual card. However, if there is any sort of official rulling/clarification/errata/etc. about this aspect of Footsteps that my web search failed to uncover, feel free to site it, as it would have bearing on the more general situation of which it is an example.