If I use Counterspell on a The Mimeoplasm that's being cast, are the 2 creatures that have to be removed still removed? Or is this a ETB effect? I ask because of the fuzzy wording on The Mimeoplasm that says as he comes into play first...


The wording clearly says

As The Mimeoplasm enters the battlefield, you may exile two creature cards from graveyards. If you do, it enters the battlefield as a copy of one of those cards with a number of additional +1/+1 counters on it equal to the power of the other card.

(emphasis mine)

So if it's countered, it will not enter the battlefield, the replacement effect won't happen and the creature cards won't be exiled from their graveyards.

  • 2
    I think the OP's confusion might be based on the difference between "When CN enters the battlefield," and "As CN enters the battlefield," might be worth adding a small explanation in that
    – Malco
    Mar 7 '19 at 19:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.