7

Can Spikeshot Goblin have itself as a target with its ability: "Tap: Spikeshot Goblin deals damage equal to its power to target creature or player"?

Yes or No?

I'm unsure as I read some things like "Rule 114.5. A spell or ability on the stack is an illegal target for itself." But I don't know if that Goblin's ability is on the stack or if it is an ability meant by that rule. Also for me an ability is another thing as a creature - so "itself" would mean the ability is targeting the ability, not "the ability is targeting the Goblin which has that ability".

That's why I ask for a simple answer as Yes or No to the Spikeshot Goblin example above.

13

Can Spikeshot Goblin have itself as a target with its ability: "Tap: Spikeshot Goblin deals damage equal to its power to target creature or player"?

Yes. Spikeshot Goblin is a creature, and unless it somehow gains protection from red, shroud, etc. it's a valid target for its own ability.

114.5. A spell or ability on the stack is an illegal target for itself.

This only means the ability can't target itself, i.e. the ability itself. This is only relevant in rare cases; one example (for spells) would be that you can't change the target of a Counterspell on the stack to itself. (If you want to counter a Counterspell with e.g. Misdirection, you have to retarget Counterspell to Misdirection; when Counterspell tries to resolve, it will then fizzle because the Misdirection is no longer a valid target, and the original target of Counterspell will not be countered.)

  • 3
    It might be worth noting that some creatures explicitly exclude themselves as targets for their own abilities, though this is usually only the case with triggered or state-based abilities. – Austin Hemmelgarn Mar 19 at 19:30

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.