In Tokyo Metro, the player meeples each occupy a single grid space on the map. We had owever I can't find anywhere in the rules claiming that meeples can't enter the same location.

After some discussion at our table, we couldn't come up with a strong argument why we should assume they couldn't when it's unstated. The design of meeples nearly the same size as grid spaces could be meaningful, but it also fits with the general minimalism of the game. Blocking could be a strategic element, but it's not necessarily hugely relevant when station builds are much more about turn order and liquidity.

Effectively there are actually 3 separate movement questions here, sorted roughly from weakest to strongest restriction:

  1. Can meeples end their movement in an occupied space?
  2. Can meeples pass through an occupied space?
  3. Can meeples ride trains that already have a player passenger?
  • 3
    If someone could make the Tokyo Metro tag, I'd greatly appreciate it! – tdhsmith Mar 20 '19 at 17:09

This has been clarified by the designer Jordan Draper on the BGG forum

players and trains can occupy the same space.

I think the old adage of rules applies. IF it was a rule that only one piece was allowed per space then the rules should say that. If that wasn't explicitly stated I would assume that to be the case.

| improve this answer | |
  • I do generally agree with the basic rule adage, though it seemed that a lot of work had been put into minimizing the components and text, so it felt slightly more likely to have been excluded accidentally. Thanks for the find! My search skills must've been weaker than usual. ;) – tdhsmith Mar 28 '19 at 16:24
  • Oh and the "reasoning" from the designer was quite funny: "In Tokyo, everyone and everything occupies the same space, anyone who has been there will testify to this" – tdhsmith Mar 28 '19 at 16:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.