In Monopoly, when you roll doubles a third time, you go to Jail. But do you get to interact with the space first? More specifically, do you get to do any of the following first?

  • @JoeW the whole point of this question is for the duplicate relationship to go the other way. This is intended as the cannonical question for the one linked
    – Zags
    Commented Mar 30, 2019 at 16:16
  • 2
    I would also point out that the question being asked and answered 3 days ago has gotten a lot of upvotes so far so it doesn't seem like a bad question or answer.
    – Joe W
    Commented Mar 30, 2019 at 20:46
  • 3
    Zags, the other question is highly upvoted and not that bad, I think you would be much better served by updating that question and answer to improve it rather then create an unneeded duplicate target to deal with two questions.
    – Joe W
    Commented Apr 2, 2019 at 13:45
  • 2
    It doesn't have to look like this one, or cover every single possibility, in order for it to be a better question.
    – Joe W
    Commented Apr 2, 2019 at 13:53
  • 1
    @Zags Please do not include meta information about the intention of your question in the question itself. If you want it to act as a canonical question it should stand on its own merits, and the determination of how to close questions as duplicates should not depend on the intentions behind asking the questions.
    – murgatroid99
    Commented Apr 4, 2019 at 17:26

1 Answer 1


When you roll doubles a third time, you do not move to or interact with the space that the dice would take you to. Instead you go directly to Jail. You do not get to do any of the listed examples.

From the rules:

If you throw doubles, you move your token as usual, the sum of the two dice, and are subject to any privileges or penalties pertaining tot he space on which you land. Retaining the dice, throw again and move your token as before. If you throw doubles three times in succession, move your token immediately to the space marked “In Jail” (see JAIL).

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .