When reading through the rules to "Chameleon the game" there is an action called zap which sends the opposing players piece to the start. I read the rules but cannot quite work out the mechanics of the steps.

The rules indicate the dice are used for Zapping but do not clearly indicate how.

Front of the box

Front of the box

Back of the box enter image description here

Board and pieces Board and pieces

Rulebook Rulebook

  • 1
    This is a little tricky. I originally assumed this question was about the word-based bluffing game by Rikki Tahta, call "The Chameleon". But that game doesn't have opposing pieces, or a zap action. OP, can you pinpoint which game you mean, potentially listed in this BGG search?
    – ConMan
    Commented Apr 8, 2019 at 3:45
  • 1
    On looking through possibilities, I'm guessing it's most likely this game. I'll see if there's any information on how the zap rule works.
    – ConMan
    Commented Apr 8, 2019 at 3:47
  • @ConMan it has the same description but a different looking board. Would it help if I added some photos of the game. Commented Apr 8, 2019 at 4:17
  • Yes it would help. As it stands there is confusion over which game you are referring to so it will be impossible to get you an answer.
    – Joe W
    Commented Apr 8, 2019 at 11:48
  • 2
    @JoeW I've added the images of the game. Commented Apr 8, 2019 at 12:24

1 Answer 1


It seems that this version of Chameleon the Game is an English reprint of a French game called Le Chameleon.
Unfortunately the Australian company that printed this game, and the original French company both seem to have gone defunct.

Luckily we have part of the French rules, and a semi-established terminology for "Zapped";
Zapping is the act of moving by exact roll onto a space occupied by an opposing piece, and thereby removing them from the game-board, and placing them into their original starting position.

What's still unclear though, is if you are able to "Zap" a piece using the optional move distance allowed when rolling a 6 (or Chameleon).

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .