4

If I summon Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger and my opponent already had lands tapped before hand, do they untap on his turn or do they stay tapped?

8

Whenever an opponent taps a land for mana, that land doesn't untap during its controller's next untap step.

This is a triggered ability. If your opponent already had tapped lands before you played Vorinclex, his ability will not trigger. Conversely if your opponent taps lands while Vorinclex is in play, and Vorinclex then leaves play, Vorinclex's ability will have already triggered and your opponent's lands will not untap during your opponent's next untap phase.

  • 4
    So for example, the opponent could tap three swamps in response to you playing Vorinclex, wait for Vorinclex to resolve, then use the 3 mana to Murder it and avoid the ability altogether. – Dan Staley Apr 11 at 17:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.