12

In the upcoming set 'War of the Spark' there is the Planeswalker Karn, the Great Creator. His -2 ability reads as:

-2: You may choose an artifact card you own from outside the game or in exile, reveal that card and add it to your hand

Now my question is, in a sealed tournament, like the Prerelease, is a player allowed to also choose cards from outside his sealed cardpool, or only out of the cards therein. Does anyone know any rulings on stuff like that?

18

It's the same wording as used on e.g. the Wish cycle from Judgment. An example is Golden Wish. Its rulings at the bottom say

10/1/2009 In a sanctioned event, a card that’s “outside the game” is one that’s in your sideboard. In an unsanctioned event, you may choose any card from your collection.

So in a Sealed event, you're limited to your sideboard, which according to the Tournament Rules are the 'rest' of the opened cards you're not using in your deck. (Of course, exiled cards can be chosen as well.)

7.1 Deck Construction Restrictions

Limited decks must contain a minimum of forty cards. There is no maximum deck size. Any drafted or opened cards not used in a player’s Limited deck function as their sideboard.

  • 7
    I would suggest closing the loop with this quote from the Magic Tournament Rules section 7.1: "Any drafted or opened cards not used in a player’s Limited deck function as their sideboard." – murgatroid99 Apr 19 at 20:45
  • Thank you for the suggestion. – Glorfindel Apr 19 at 20:51
  • 3
    Also for a direct rule quote in addition to/instead of the card ruling, the end of section 3.15 of the tournament rules says "Certain cards refer to 'a (card or cards) from outside the game.' In tournament play, these are cards in that player’s sideboard." – murgatroid99 Apr 19 at 20:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.