Can Aquamoeba beat Glory Seeker if the Aquamoeba owner discards one or more cards during the fight?

aquamoeba

Discard a card from your hand: switch Aquamoeba's power and toughness until end of turn. 1/3 creature

Glory seeker

2/2 creature - human soldier

migrated from gaming.stackexchange.com Sep 11 '11 at 12:38

This question came from our site for passionate videogamers on all platforms.

  • Depends on your definition of "beat." – adamjford Sep 12 '11 at 21:54
  • Well, i want possible scenarios. If you discard 0, 1 or 2 cards, what happens in each case (who dies and who survives and why) ? – Benjamin Crouzier Sep 13 '11 at 7:35
up vote 16 down vote accepted

It used to be the case that you could do this:

  • Declare attackers and blockers
  • Activate the Aquamoeba's ability
  • Resolve the stack
  • Put 3 combat damage on the stack
  • Activate the Aquamoeba's ability again
  • Resolve stack

This would cause the Aquamoeba to have 3 power when damage was assigned but have 3 toughness when damage was resolved, killing the 2/2 but leaving the Aquamoeba alive.

However, changes to the combat rules for Magic 2010 were made that specifically prevented this. Now damage does not use the stack and is assigned and applied in one step, so the Aquamoeba can be either 1/3 at the time (and both survive) or 3/1 at the time (and both die).

You should take the time to read up on how the Stack works.

Unless stated otherwise on the card, all activated abilities can be played at anytime, identical to an instant. This means you can activate Aquamoeba's ability during combat, and due to the way the Stack works Aquamoeba's ability will take effect before combat damage is dealt. Therefore using Aquamoeba's ability will result in both itself and Glory Seeker dying.

Yup it can. Card abilities can be activated like instants - therefore can be activated at any time of play. Although both creature would die because it does not have first strike.

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.