Need clarification on Draw4 rule. Player 1 lays down a Draw4 card and says the color is Red. Player 2 does not have a Red card but has a Draw4 card. Can Player 2 lay down his Draw4 card and have Player 3 draw 8 cards?
Not under the standard rules - there is no ability to respond to a Wild +4 (or a +2 for that matter). If the previous player to you played one of those cards, you take the cards and the turn pass.
"Stacking" + cards is a common house rule, but we obviously can't tell you what your house rules are.
No, it's not valid to do so since according to the Mattel's UNO rules the next player forfeit their turn and MUST draw 4 cards from the pile.
From mattel.com: https://service.mattel.com/instruction_sheets/42001pr.pdf
Wild Draw 4 Card - This card allows you to call the next color played and requires the next player to pick 4 cards from the DRAW pile and FORFEIT his/her turn.
Note: Stacking or Progressive UNO, i.e. playing a Draw 4 card on top of another Draw 4 card, is a common house rule used by many.
I'm guessing this question is a reference to a tweet that was viral over last few days. So direct from source.....If someone puts down a +4 card, you must draw 4 and your turn is skipped. You can’t put down a +2 to make the next person Draw 6. We know you’ve tried it. #UNO pic.twitter.com/wOegca4r0h— UNO (@realUNOgame) May 4, 2019
According to official rules, if a player plays a
Wild Draw 4 card on you, you can only:
- Draw 4 cards.
- You may challenge that player, if you suspect that a Wild Draw 4 card has been played on you illegally (i.e. the player has a matching card). The challenged player must show you their hand. If guilty, the challenged player must draw the 4 cards instead of you. However, if the challenged player is innocent, you must draw the 4 cards PLUS an additional 2 cards (6 total).